What are the Higher Education Qualifications (HEQ) equivalent to?

The BCS Higher Education Qualifications have been accredited by Ofqual – Office of the Qualifications and Examinations Regulator and are included in the National Qualifications Framework for England, Wales and Northern Ireland

Accreditation Number Title
100/6181/2 BCS Level 4 Certificate in IT
100/6190/3 BCS Level 5 Diploma in IT (incorporating Project)
100/6191/5 BCS Level 6 Professional Graduate Diploma in IT (incorporating Project)

The PGD in IT is recognised by Ofqual as a level 6 qualification on the same level (though not necessarily equivalent to) the following:

  • degree apprenticeship
  • degree with honours - for example bachelor of the arts (BA) hons, bachelor of science (BSc) hons
  • graduate certificate
  • graduate diploma
  • level 6 award
  • level 6 certificate
  • level 6 diploma
  • level 6 NVQ
  • ordinary degree without honours

The Diploma and PGD Examinations can be taken independently of the project and vice versa. The ‘in IT’ qualification will only be achieved when both examinations and project have been taken and passed. The PGD examinations are examined at academic level 6.

Was this article helpful?
0 out of 0 found this helpful
Have more questions? Submit a request


Article is closed for comments.